A DUI is serious. In the state of Florida, a DUI conviction can remain on your record for 75 years. So, it is normal to feel anxious and afraid when facing a DUI charge. With so much going through your head, it is hard to know who to call or what to do next. Our top-rated DUI lawyer in Jacksonville share a few things, however, that you need to do immediately.
You must contact the DMV within 10 days of your arrest date to apply for a hardship license. There are no exceptions. If you depend on your ability to drive for employment, health or family reasons, don’t procrastinate. After 10 days, the opportunity is gone and you may be without a license for months.
Considering what is at stake, hiring a private attorney is critical. If your DUI resulted from an accident or involves a complex situation, an experienced attorney should be consulted immediately. The sooner a DUI attorney gets involved, the sooner they can begin work on your behalf.
Avoid discussing your case with anyone, even friends and family, until you speak with an attorney. Anything you say to law enforcement or potential witnesses could harm your case or eliminate your best DUI defense.
Letting an attorney handle everything, including working with the DMV to secure a hardship license, will assure your case is handled consistently and in your best interest. Because they know the people and the system, an experienced DUI attorney may successfully argue to eliminate damaging evidence. As a result, your case could be dropped without even going to court.
If accused of your first DUI in NE Florida, you may be eligible to participate in Duval County’s PTD DUI diversion program. An attorney can review the specifics of your case, answer common PTD questions, and discuss the pros and cons of participation in the program.
We can help you move forward after an arrest. Don’t let a lapse in judgment derail your future; call now to speak with an experienced DUI lawyer at Chris Johns Law Group today.
Once you decide to seek the help of an attorney, how do you select one from the crowd of attorneys all claiming to be the best DUI lawyers in NE Florida?
The best lawyer is not always the most expensive or the one who advertises the most. Fortunately, there are formal things you can look for. For instance, board certified attorneys have been evaluated for professionalism and proficiency in a given area of practice by the Florida Bar itself. Some attorneys- like Chris Johns, were former prosecutors, so they have knowledge of the court system from both sides. Others have a high volume of traffic law cases and are familiar with key personnel at the DMV.
In addition to meeting formal criteria, a good attorney should be interested in you. Every DUI defendant is different, and a good DUI lawyer will take the time to learn as much as possible about your situation. When your job or career are on the line, you want someone who will do more than just answer phone calls and appear in court.
Attorney Chris Johns is a board certified criminal trial lawyer with over 10 years of DMV experience. If you are anxious about your case or need to restore your driver’s license quickly after DUI charges, call our Tampa DUI lawyers for a free consultation.
We will answer any questions, explain the process and provide a free legal opinion regarding your best defense based upon the initial interview. There are 10 general strategies we can use for defending a DUI charge, but our top-rated law firm will work with you to find the best defense strategy for your case.
Best of all, the attorneys at Chris Johns Law Group will personally pick up the phone and work to get your license restored so you can get your life back to normal as soon as possible. Remember, there is only a 10-Day Window to Restore Your License after a DUI arrest, so call our NE Florida DUI lawyers today.
Former Insurance Company Attorney
FIGHTING FOR YOU